Kale Chips

We eat a lot of kale at our house, but I have always hidden it in soups. My friend Joyce encouraged me try Kale Chips. It was an inspired idea. The first batch I made never made it to dinner- I ate them all. Yep, Kale Chips are that good! They are also so quick to make, that you can make two batches in one day.

Preheat the oven to 350 F and wash and dry 1 bunch of  kale. If you haven’t cooked kale before , you should know that not all of it is really edible.  You need to remove the leaves from the super-tough stalk. Then place the leaves on a parchment lined baking sheet. Next, I poured about 2 tbsp of olive oil into a small bowl and then using my fingers coated the top side of the leaves with the oil. I suppose you could use a brush but this worked really well. Then sprinkle a little sea salt on each leaf and pop in the oven for 7 minutes or until crispy.

To make slightly spicy chips replace the olive oil with a little hot chili oil.

Be careful when you remove these treats from the oven. They are super light and tend to fly up off the baking sheet.

Who enjoyed them?

Husband- Loved them nearly as much as I did.

Son #1- Ate a couple.

Son # 2- Licked the salt off one chip!

Yesterday at our house:

Perhaps, it was because it was Mother’s Day weekend or because I had already stepped on three pieces of Lego, but I had had enough. So, when Son #2 started whining for me to find his Spider-man action figure, I lost it!

“I am not your servant,” I shouted, “clean your room and you will find him!”

Later at bedtime Son #2 looked at me with puppy dog eyes and whispered, ” Mama, I know you don’t want to be my blacksmith anymore, but I need some water.”

Blacksmith. Servant. Really, who can tell the difference these days?

-Mom on a veggie mission

Leave a Reply

