Broccoli and Cabbage Stir-Fry

  You might think that I’ve gone crazy  by trying to get a picky three year old to eat broccoli and cabbage in one meal, but Son #1 actually really likes broccoli. So, I was hoping that son #2 would follow in his older brother’s footsteps. Well, that was my intention.

The secret to this yummy Broccoli and Cabbage Stir-Fry is the sauce. To make the sauce simply combine, in a small bowl, 2 tbsp soya sauce, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. ginger powder (if you are making this for adults or adventurous kids use real garlic and real ginger) and a drizzle of honey.

With the sauce made, you can concentrate on your vegetables. To make this as a side dish with enough for 2 adults and 2 kids (who don’t eat much) use 1 broccoli crown and 2 cups of  shredded cabbage. I like to blanch the cabbage and broccoli in boiling water for about 2 minutes. I do this to remove the slightly bitter taste that cabbage can have, but it is not necessary. If you don’t blanch first, simply stir-fry both the broccoli and cabbage  for about 8 minutes or until the broccoli is tender but still has crunch. If you do blanch first, you’ll only need to stir-fry for about 5 minutes. In either case, add about 3/4 of the sauce to your vegetables in the final minute of cooking.

The rest of the sauce ( not a lot , I’ll admit) I usually keep in the bowl and put  on the table for the family to use as a dipping sauce for whatever tofu or meat accompanies this dish .

Did they eat it?

Husband- Of course, he eats anything.

Son #1- Yummy!

Son #2- “Get that off my plate!”

By now, I think you have an idea of how stubborn my second son is.  My husband and I each blame our respective mother-in-laws, because there is no way we created this iron-willed creature. Simply, no way. 🙂 In any case, I think it’s time to put Mr. Iron Will to work. Perhaps, if he helps make it, he’ll eat it.

-Mom on a veggie mission

2 thoughts on “Broccoli and Cabbage Stir-Fry

  1. Does he ever choose veggies at the store? Also maybe cheese sauce on cooked broccoli or on raw celery?

Leave a Reply

