Celery and Radish Salad

If you like a little crunch in your salad- this is the recipe for you!  I first saw this vegetable combination on Martha Stewart ( I think before she went to jail. Does that woman even have a show anymore?) but I’m not good at remembering things I’ve seen on TV and so I made up the dressing. I’m sure her original dressing is more elegant but this works as well.

To make the dressing add 2 tsp. Dijon mustard, 1 tbsp. white balsamic vinegar, and 2 tbsp. olive oil to the bottom of your salad bowl. Give the dressing a stir and then add about 6 radishes sliced as thin as you can and 6 stalks of celery again thinly sliced (I like to use the tender inside stalks for this salad.) Then toss the salad together, coating the radishes and celery with the dressing as you go.

Who ate it?

Husband- This is one of  his favorite salads.

Son #1-The mustard is a bit much for him, but he will eat it undressed.

Son #2- Nope.

Around our house

It is time to buy the boys new shoes. This seems like it would be an easy task, but it always reignites a very specific battle between me and the boys. You see, I refuse to buy them light-up shoes. I don’t know who invented those things, but I doubt they had boys. I know of no kid who could use the extra distraction. Who knows what causes all the Attention Deficit Disorders that seem to be plaguing North American children but I’m sure light-up shoes aren’t helping. Nope, no light up shoes for my two.

Son #1 has pretty much given up on asking, knowing that I’m unusually firm on this matter. Son #2, however, keeps on trying. His latest attempt was today.

“Mama, ” he began, “What’s better? I get light-up shoes or I die?”

” Well, when you put it that way,” I began, giving him a little hope, ” Yeah…… still no.”

So,  I won this battle.  Secretly, however,  I’m scared that I’ll be sitting at his wedding one day and he’ll be all handsome in his tux, shuffling his feet in nervous anticipation and that’s when I’ll see it. Light-up shoes!

-Mom on a veggie mission

2 thoughts on “Celery and Radish Salad

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog and I think it’s adorable. Kids are so tough these days, and pop culture’s sure not making it easy to promote healthy living. I’m rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

