Cauliflower Popcorn

This weekend, I found out that I have a blogger doppleganger.  That’s right, there are two of us on exactly the same crusade. Except she was first. She’s had more success- her son now eats his vegetables. She’s more organized than I am- she got her family to eat their veggies in alphabetical order and she’s more sophisticated than I will ever be. Okay, I’m not actually sure about the last one, but I’m pretty sure, since she’s British and all.

To be honest, finding out that I had a blogger twin was a little deflating (did she have to be an Oxford graduate?)  Of course the fact, that someone had already done what I was doing, should not have been surprising. There are millions of mothers with picky eaters and there are probably as many want-to-be writers.  Just to be clear, I’m the wanna-be. She, of course, is a U.K  journalist.  I suppose that there was always bound to be someone else doing the same thing. Still, my ego did take a hit.

Of course, this was never supposed to be about me. This blog is about my young son who eats like a 50 year old trucker. It’s about getting veggies in his belly. So I swallowed my pride and bought her cookbook ( yes, she even has a cookbook- I told you she was successful.) Should I mention that I  found her cookbook in the bargain bin for $2?  Probably not.

So this recipe is an adaptation of  Charlotte Hume’s  “Cauliflower Crunch” from her book ” The Great Big Veg Challenge.” If the title had had the word ‘mission’ in it, I probably would have quit. Basically, I’ve taken her idea of cutting the cauliflower to resemble popcorn, but added my own spices.

First, preheat the oven to 350 F. While your oven is pre-heating, take 1 medium-sized head of cauliflower and break it up to resemble popcorn. I used a combination of a knife and my hands. Place all of your cauliflower pieces in a large bowl and add 3 tbsp. of olive oil. Be sure that all of your florets are well coated in the oil. To this, add 1/2 tsp. celery salt and toss to coat.

Next, spread the cauliflower on a baking sheet and bake for a total of 20 minutes.  If you made very small ‘popcorn’ pieces, they cook more quickly- closer to 16 minutes.  Be sure to watch your dish in the final 5 minutes of cooking, as you want the florets to be crispy but not burnt.

Who ate it?

Husband- He loved it. He also thought that we should buy some popcorn flavour shakers and then everyone could top their own cauliflower popcorn.

Son #1- He loved it and probably ate about half a head of cauliflower by himself.

Son #2- He ate it. He said he didn’t like it, but there was a twinkle in his eye 🙂

Son #2 ate it and that’s why I’m doing this blog. Without the blog, there is no way I would have presented a vegetable in a popcorn container.

– Mom on a veggie mission

10 thoughts on “Cauliflower Popcorn

  1. Great idea. My picky one already likes cauliflower (one of a list of about 6 things she likes); maybe her cauliflower avoiding brother will go for it this way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

