Zucchini Pizza

Drunk off the success of Cauliflower Popcorn, I decide to make a pizza that has neither meat nor cheese.

To make this Zucchini Pizza, use 1 medium ball of fresh pizza dough. If you have always bought your pizza dough from the grocery store, I’d really recommend trying to buy your dough from your local pizzeria- it is so much better!  In my experience, smaller, privately-owned joints are more likely to sell you their dough than the larger pizza franchises. Our local pizza place charges $2 for a medium sized ball of dough.

Preheat your oven to 425 F and stretch out your dough on your pizza pan. Spread 3 tbsp. of tomato paste over the dough ( I like tomato paste but you could use tomato sauce for a milder flavour.) Then take 2 medium sized zucchinis and shave them into the thinnest slices possible. I used a cheese slicer to create my slices. I’m sure a mandolin would work even better, but I’m not a big fan of kitchen gadgets. Next, brush a little oil on your zucchini pizza. I like a blend of flaxseed and olive oil but use your favourite. Season the pizza with a little cracked black pepper and bake for approx. 12 minutes.

Who ate it?

Husband- He was at a work- thing that night, so he got a pass.

Son #1- Ate it, but pointed out that “a pizza should have more than one thing on top!” The little dude is right- my bad. (Do people say that anymore?)

Son #2- He tried it. By this, I mean that he took the smallest possible slice. Still, it’s pretty impressive.

On another note:

Asking my children to try all these new vegetable recipes has made me wonder whether I would be willing to do the same. Would I like it if I were asked to try new foods every second night?  I’m not sure I’d be as graceful as my two sons have been.

That happens a lot to children, I think. We, as adults, often expect them to act much better than we ever would.

Demanding that they try new foods or finish their meal is just one example, but there are countless others. One, that comes to mind, is how we expect our children to be social butterflies. We drop them off at birthday parties, where they know only the birthday child, and expect them to be friendly and join right in.

I don’t know about you, but I dread going to parties where I know maybe 3 people. I use my husband and a glass of wine as a crutch.  If someone told me I had to do the limbo, like all the other guests, I’d either hide in the bathroom or pretend I got an urgent call from the babysitter and hightail it home.

Why is it that we don’t like our children to be shy or picky? Are these traits really so terrible?

-Mom on a veggie mission.

3 thoughts on “Zucchini Pizza

Leave a Reply

