Baked Aduki Beans

I read almost every vegetable recipe I come across, so I can say, with some authority, that the aduki bean is having a bit of a moment. Although most recipes call for aduki beans to be used in desserts, I thought I’d try them as a savory side.

 Since I’ve only eaten baked beans about three times in my life, I didn’t quite know where I was going with this. Although the beans did turn out pretty well, the recipe has a lot of sugar (honey and brown sugar) so I would consider this vegetarian junk food!

Start my making your sauce, you can add the ingredients straight into your cooking pot. You’ll need 2/3 of a cup of all-natural BBQ sauce, 1 tsp. soya sauce, 2 tbsp. tomato paste, 2 tbsp. honey, 1 and 1/2 tbsp. brown sugar and 1/4 of a cup of water.  To this add 1 can (14 oz) of aduki beans, simmer this for 15 minutes covered. Then uncover and simmer for another 15 minutes to let the sauce thicken.

Who ate it ?

Husband-  Of course! He poured it over his fries.  Pretty yummy.

Son #1- No way! He thought the dish looked like brains, which shows you that he has absolutely no idea what a brain looks like.

Son #2- After the comment his brother made, chances went from slim to none.

Although only 2 out of the 4 of us ate this dish, I will probably give the aduki bean another chance. It’s such a cute little bean 🙂

-Mom on a veggie mission

5 thoughts on “Baked Aduki Beans

  1. My mom made these from scratch with navy beans when I was a kid. A great side with baked ham. She also served homemade mustard pickles with bits of cauliflower in amongst the pickles. I still make the baked beans from scratch, that way I can control the amount of sugar.

Leave a Reply

