Traffic Light Peppers

Boys love cars.  Cars love traffic lights, therefore boys will  love Traffic Light Peppers? Yeah, the logic is a little flawed but in my head I imagined so much more than I was able to produce.

To make this pre-school type side, you’ll need 1 red pepper, 1 orange pepper and 1 green pepper. Core the peppers and try to get the largest possible surface area of flat pepper that you can. Cut out as many circles of each pepper as your slices allow. As you see from the photo on the left, I was only able to cut three circles of each colour. Pathetic I know, but I am not known for my crafting ability. I used scissors, but if you had a small circle cookie cutter that would probably work much better.

The thing that I had really not anticipated was how very messy this “making the circles” was.  Let me put it this way, you also need 1 face mask. As soon as my scissors hit the pepper, I got drenched in pepper juice.  It might be easier to cook the pepper slices first and then cut out the circles.

Next heat 1/2 tbsp. of Safflower oil on your skillet until it is just hot and add your circles, cook for 2 minutes per side. Unlike normal pepper dishes, try not to brown them as you don’t want “burnt out” lights. Once your pepper circles have cooled, arrange them on your skewers in the correct traffic light order.

“What about the rest of the peppers?”

Well, I diced the rest into small pieces and then cooked it with sesame oil. It looked like colourful confetti.

Who ate it?

Husband- He was banned from the Traffic Light Peppers as I was only able to produce 3. He did, however, enjoy the Pepper Confetti.

Son #1- He loved this idea, and ate two sets of red and yellow lights and then ate his brother’s. He did not, however, touch the green peppers.

Son #2- He grabbed them eagerly, but then he licked it and realized that he was not, in fact, having a tri-colour lollipop for dinner.  At that point, I was just proud that he didn’t cry and that he managed to eat the rest of his dinner.

On another note,

Have you ever wondered when you are finally going to feel like a real adult?

I mean you are married, you have a job, you have two kids, maybe you even own a home, but still you wonder when am I going to really  feel like an adult?.

Well, I have the answer.

Simply fill out the papers to increase your life-insurance. Then wait about 5-10 minutes for your mind and body to realize that you are now worth more dead than alive.

Yep, you are an Adult. With a capital A.

– (Adult) Mom on a veggie mission.

6 thoughts on “Traffic Light Peppers

  1. Hilarious! And too true about the life insurance. We’re looking into different providers and their rates. Let me know if you want to compare!

  2. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So nice to find any person with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is wanted on the internet, someone with a little bit originality. useful job for bringing something new to the web! 591939

Leave a Reply

