Quinoa Salad with Lentils

  Quinoa is everywhere right now.  Even my husband is addicted and has it almost everyday for lunch. Secretly, however,  I have always found that about 30 minutes after eating a quinoa salad I get really hungry.

I mean so hungry that a double hamburger seems like the only reasonable solution. I can also guess (as I’m sure you can too) that Son #2 is not even going to look at this dish.

Still, this blog is about trying new things so let’s give it a try. The addition of lentils should help with my hunger and the dressing includes honey which may make it more to Son #2’s liking (I can hear you laughing.)

Start by cooking your quinoa. In a medium sauce pan combine 1 cup quinoa with 2 cups water and bring this up to a boil. Then let it simmer for about 15 minutes or until the quinoa has softened and is translucent. Fluff with a fork and let it cool.

As your quinoa cools, you can start on your vegetables. For this salad I diced 2 red peppers and 4 radishes and drained and rinsed 1.5 cups of cooked lentils. Once your quinoa has cooled, transfer it to a serving bowl and add the peppers, radishes and lentils.

The dressing is entirely my husband’s creation and is what he uses daily on his salad.  In a small bowl combine the juice of 1/2 a lemon, 1 tbsp. balsamic vinegar, 3 tbsp. olive oil, 1 tsp. dried dill and 1/2 tbsp. honey. Pour this over your salad, toss and you are good to go.

Who ate it?

Husband- Of course, but he did suggest that it might benefit from something sweet like a little dried apricot or some golden raisins.

Son #1- Liked the peppers and radishes but neither the quinoa nor the lentils made it into his mouth.

Son #2- While I was cooking the quinoa, he kept asking what that horrible smell was. I didn’t tell him, claiming that I couldn’t smell a thing.  Of course, by the time dinner came, he made it be known that he would not even lick a lentil.

In case you are curious the lentils did help. 30 minutes later I was only craving a single hamburger 🙂

On another note:

Last Saturday I went to a school book fair and found a cookbook entitled, ” Recipes for a Small Planet” by Ellen Buchman Ewald. In it she argues that “the planet will not support the wasteful practices that presently produce most of its meat-based protein supply” and that a new plant-based solution must be found. Near the back of the book one reviewer writes that, “it’s a gentle revolution-but it may be the most important one this decade will see!”

This is true I thought, but something felt off.

All the pages were yellow, so I flipped to the front of the book.

The book was published in 1973. Crazy.

-Mom on a veggie mission

Leave a Reply

