Kid-Approved Potato and Kale Cakes

Yes, that’s right I said “kid-approved,” so it’s good times over here.

It did not, however, start off so nicely.

It began when I decided to make the “potato and kale cakes” recipe from Everyday Food (a Martha Stewart magazine.) I have used recipes from this magazine before, and have always found them to be easy. However, part-way through this recipe, the kitchen was a crazy mess and I was screaming with frustration.

So my husband swept in and created a new recipe.This is his version, which makes around 12 cakes.

Start by peeling and cubing 5 russet potatoes. Drop these into a large pot of salted water and bring it all up to rapid boil. Once it’s boiling, reduce the heat until you get a steady simmer.

To this  add 1 bunch of Kale. This sounds like a lot, but really it’s only the curly top leaves are edible. You can either chop up the kale leaves or simply roughly tear them by hand. You want small-ish pieces.

Next, add 1 leek to the pot. Again, you only want to use the white or light green center of the leek, which should be well rinsed and finely chopped. Simmer all this for about 10 minutes or until your potatoes are so tender that they almost fall apart.

Drain and transfer the potatoes, kale and leek into a large mixing bowl.  With a fork, mash up your potatoes until only a few lumps remain. Season with salt and pepper to taste (be generous, nothing else is going into these cakes.)

As you let this mixture cool, preheat the oven to 450F and prepare your breading station. For this, all you need is 1.5 cups of panko breadcrumbs in a bowl.

Once your potato mash is cool enough to touch, form it into patties with your hands. Then coat your patties, one at a time, in the breadcrumbs. Place the patties on a baking sheet.

Bake in the oven for 18- 20 minutes, flipping them over once. You want each side to be golden brown.

Who ate it?

Husband- Yes. It’s his creation, after all.

Son #1- Loved it.

Son #2- HE LOVED IT AND ATE TWO!!!! Most impressively, he ate the kale as well. There was no whining about the green pieces, no picking them out. He just gobbled it all up. That’s what makes this ‘kid approved!’

Around our house:

We’ve been pet-sitting a friend’s hamster. When the family came to drop her off, they reassured us that it would be easy.

“She’s very friendly.”

“She doesn’t bite.”

“Her name is Nighty.”

Ok, I thought, her name’s Nighty and she doesn’t bite. No problem.

I was paying attention to the wrong bits. I should have been paying closer attention to the pronouns. Her. She.

So that first night, my husband took her out of her cage to let the boys pet her and possibly, depending on how the first stage went, play with her. Things were going well, so into Son #1’s hands she went. Then it was Son #2’s turn.

All still fine.

Then back into my husband’s hands and that’s when it happened.

“What are those?” I asked.

“Those would be testicles,” my husband replied.

Just like that she became a he.

Why the little dude decided to choose his first night at our home to reach his sexual maturity we’ll never know. However, living, as I do, the lone female in an all male household, I have a simple theory.

Testosterone begets more testosterone.

I would expand on this theory but I need to go bleach my moustache. Well, that and I need to help  Son #1 figure out how to tell his friend that Nighty grew balls.

-Mom on a veggie mission

3 thoughts on “Kid-Approved Potato and Kale Cakes

  1. Ha ha ha… I can’t stop laughing!!! You’ll have to tell us how that conversation goes!

    And yay for son #2 getting his greens! This recipe sounds delicious.

    • OMG she is right, the dish is amazing. I made it and let my hubby tried it with some warm brown rice it was deoiiclus. I used collard green instead because my kale were still small. Excellent dish. thanks jennifer

Leave a Reply

