Korean Sweet Potato Bites

Earlier in the week, my husband went to the Korean grocery store and brought back these amazing purple sweet potatoes. To ensure that Son #2 ate them, I once again made potato cakes. This time they are purple though, which for lazy days in July, I’m going to count as a new recipe. Forgive me.

Start by washing, peeling and cubing 5 Korean Sweet Potatoes. (They come in both purple and white.) Boil your cubed potatoes until they are tender. This takes about 12-15 minutes. Once they are tender, drain the water and mash the potatoes with a fork.

Next, let the mash cool a little and put 1.5 cups of panko breadcrumbs (I know, I’m obsessed) in a wide, shallow bowl. Once the mash is cool enough to handle, shape the mash into small patties with either your hands or two spoons, coat in the breadcrumbs, and place on a baking sheet.

Preheat your oven to 450 °F and bake for about 20 minutes, turning them over once at the 10 minute mark.  5 sweet potatoes made around 12 mini-cakes.

Who ate it?

Husband- Yes, but he didn’t love them.  He thought that they might be better with half sweet potato and half regular potatoes.

Son #1- He ate them but didn’t love them.

Son #2- He LOVED them! He ate four of them so quickly that at first I thought he must have hid them somewhere, but no he really did eat them.

Around our house:

This year I volunteered our family to help take care of the gardens at Son #1’s school. Of course, this is the year that it has not rained at all. According to our local weatherman, the average rainfall for July should be 75 mm, but we’ve had less than 3 mm. So, we are watering and worrying that the plants might just die on our watch.

Standing there pouring copious amounts of water on plants allows you a lot of time to reflect. One thing I’ve noticed is that I seem to care more about the trees with plaques underneath them. I spend more time and water on the trees dedicated to a former principal and a student who passed away, than all the other plants combined.

I don’t want any of the plants to die, but I really want those two to live!

The sad thing about this observation is that at university, if you gave me two nights, I could have easily written a 5000 word essay on the significance of paying closer attention to things once they are labelled. I would have used references from Greek mythology, the bible and art, but now 12 years later at  less than 200 words-I’m done.

-Mom on a veggie mission

Leave a Reply

