Beans and Greens

Most of the recipes in this blog are for side dishes, but my husband and I eat a lot of vegetarian and vegan main dishes as well.  This one I created was especially good and so I wanted to share it, even though I knew that there was no way I would get either son to eat it.

To make “beans and greens” you need to start by pouring one small can of diced tomatoes with the juices into your skillet. Bring this up to a boil and add 4 cups of kale leaves (stems and stalk removed, leaves cleaned). Let the kale wilt and then add 2 cups of cooked small red beans, 1/4 tsp. of sea salt and 1/2 tsp of cumin.

Reduce the heat and simmer for 15 minutes. At this point add 6 tbsp of coconut milk and 1/2 cup of peas. Simmer for another 5-8 minutes.

We like to spoon this over couscous and top it with some chopped basil and cilantro and a squirt of lime.

Also, because this recipe uses only a fraction of a can of coconut milk, I poured the rest of the milk into an ice cube tray and froze it. Once the coconut milk cubes were set I popped them into a freezer bag.

Who ate it?

Husband- He really liked this one.

Son #1 and Son#2- There was never any chance that they would even smell it. I don’t really blame them, when I was a kid I wouldn’t have eaten it either.

On another note:

I’ve been thinking this week about how the internet has changed the way couples argue. I’ll give you an example.

On Tuesday night my husband and I were watching Crazy, Stupid, Love (not a bad movie, actually) when who should appear on the screen but a vaguely familiar, yet difficult to place face. My husband thought immediately that it was Josh Groban, but I really didn’t think so.

Isn’t the actor Josh Brolin? Isn’t Josh Groban some sort of singer?

Before the internet this discussion would have lasted, at the very least,  the length of the film as we waited for the closing credits. In this scenario, I would have had a good 90 minutes to think that I am right, or at least I would have been able to delay my “wrongness.”

As someone who is wrong a lot, I enjoy delaying my wrongness. I enjoy believing for even a few hours that I am indeed correct, that my husband has no clue what he is talking about. If we missed the closing credits, I could have delayed my wrongness for longer as we polled our friends or if very determined, went to the library and looked it up.

But NO, the internet has changed that. All my husband has to do is pause the movie, leap over the back of the couch and check to see who’s right. In this instance, my wrongness was delayed for mere moments before the triumphant,

“A-HA! I’m right. It is Josh Groban.”

“Well, he looks shorter when he acts than when he sings.”

“Really? You know we could google that and see how many people agree with you.”

It sucks to be wrong in the age of the internet. I know ’cause I’m wrong a lot.

-Mom on a veggie mission

3 thoughts on “Beans and Greens

Leave a Reply

