Black Bean Burgers

I have to admit that it was actually my husband who created these burgers by adapting a recipe I found on the Vegetarian Times website.

To start you need to make your quinoa. Add 1/2 cup of quinoa and 1.5 cups of water to a small saucepan. Bring this to a boil and then reduce the heat and cover.

Cook for 20 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed.

While your quinoa is cooking prepare the rest of your ingredients. Heat a skillet on medium-high and add to it 6 finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes, 1 minced garlic clove, 1/4 tsp. of cumin, 1/4 tsp. celery salt, 1/2 tsp. of paprika, 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup of vegetable stock, and 3/4 of a cup of black beans. Simmer this all for around 10 minutes or until there is very little liquid left.

Once the mixture has cooled, transfer it to a food processor and add 3/4 of a cup of the cooled quinoa. Then whiz this all until it is smooth. Put this smooth mixture into a large bowl and add another 3/4 of a cup of quinoa and 3/4 of a cup of black beans.

Preheat the oven to 350 °F and form the mixture into patties. We were able to make 10 small patties. Bake them for around 20 minutes, flipping them at the 10 minute mark.

Who ate them?

Husband- Yes, but thought that they could use much more seasoning. Perhaps, we should have actually added salt!

Son #1 and Son #2- I stacked the patties on top of each other on a single plate and the boys thought they looked like amazing brownie- cookie type things. They were both disappointed by the truth. They did however, eat their dinner and corn on the cob very well. Perhaps fearful of  ‘the stack’.  In any case, neither son even tried it 😦 

Around our home:

Last Friday, I was watching the opening ceremonies of the Olympics with the boys. While Son #1 and I were discussing what “live” television means and I was trying to answer his never-ending questions about how it  worked (there is nothing like having a curious kid to show you over and over again how little you actually know), Son #2 got up and went right up to the television and in a very serious voice said,

“Thank you so much!”

Son #1 and I were startled.

” Why are you thanking the TV?” we wanted to know.

“The woman’s voice said that that old man invented the internet.”

Ah yes, we like the internet over at our house. The boys have recently started to use it by themselves. Son #1 can sound out simple words and that’s all you need  to start an adventure on the thing.

A  few months ago, I was busy in a different room and realized that I hadn’t heard anything from the boys in a while.

“What are you guys doing?” I shouted into the air.

“Nothing”

“No, I mean tell me what you are doing?”

” We are watching Tin-Tin videos on the internet,” Son #1 replied.

That didn’t sound so bad I thought, but then a voice- male, low and booming like on a  public service announcement rang through my head,

Do you know what your kids are doing on the internet?” it said.

NO! I don’t.

I know how they found the videos- they simply typed in TIN TIN in the Google search box and then hit ‘videos’.

“What page of videos are you on?” I shouted back into the abyss.

I don’t know when videos of  Tin-Tin start to go south, but my guess is that any video after page 5 is suspect.

“We are on the second O.”

“Okay,” I shout back, “don’t go past the fourth O.”

I know what you are thinking. I should really be out there with them, but sometimes even moms need to go to the bathroom by themselves!

– Mom on a veggie mission

Leave a Reply

