Eggplant Confetti

I love the look of eggplants. I love how purple and plump they are. I love how they look in my plastic basket as I walk around the grocery store.

“WOW!” they scream at anyone who happens to be walking near me, “this lady is a cooking goddess who can take this purple jewel and make dinner.”

Or perhaps I’m projecting.

In any case, while I love the look, its texture can be really difficult for kids. Almost everyone I know has to smother this purple veggie in a mountain of cheese before their kids will even look at it. That is not an option for us, so I thought it best to go simple.

To make this Eggplant Confetti, take 1 small eggplant and 1 medium sized Japanese eggplant and dice both into small cubes. You should have around 4 cups of cubed eggplant. To this add 3 tbsp. olive oil or safflower oil, 1/2 tsp celery salt and 1/2 tsp cumin. Toss to coat.

Next, heat your skillet and add your eggplant. Saute on medium-high for around 10 minutes or until the eggplant is tender and almost translucent. In the final few minutes of cooking add 2 plum tomatoes diced into small cubes.

Serve this hot on French bread with a little fresh basil.

Who ate it?

Husband- He ate it but he is not a fan of eggplant.

Son #1 and Son #2- You know it’s bad when I group their opinions together. Yep, you guessed it- neither of them was even willing to try this. They did however, wolf down the bread.

I haven’t had a success with a new recipe in what feels like forever. I think I’ll go for broke and try the dreaded “Brussels sprouts” next. That should be fun!

– Mom on a veggie mission

5 thoughts on “Eggplant Confetti

Leave a Reply

