The Great Brussels Sprout Battle

  So after about 3 months and 40 new recipes I finally felt brave enough to tackle the mighty Brussels Sprout. I don’t even think that my sons know that this vegetable is legendary for it’s ability to get humans to say “yuck” or “ick” or “I’ll eat anything but NOT that!”

Still, alone in my kitchen, I felt like I was in a battle or at the very least a showdown- Mom vs. Brussels Sprouts and there could be but one victor.

Okay, that is perhaps a tad dramatic; basically I was making stir-fried Brussels sprouts. To start, take 4 cups of Brussels sprouts ( about 20 sprouts) and remove the stalks and the outer layer. Then chop each sprout into quarters.

Heat 2 tbsp. of sesame oil in your skillet and once the oil is hot add in your sprouts. Stir-fry for about 5 minutes. At this point add in 1 tbsp. tamari or regular soy sauce and 1 tbsp. of maple syrup. Reduce the heat to medium and stir-fry for another 3- 5 minutes until your sprouts are tender.

Who ate it?

Husband- Yes and thought the seasoning was really good!

Son #1- He tried it!

Son #2- No and didn’t appreciate getting his toy solider contaminated with vegetable.

Okay, so I guess I lost this battle but these sprouts were surprisingly delicious!

On another note:

Writing this blog and trying all these new recipes has led me to read a lot of recipes. I mean A LOT. I’ve realized that there are two words that I dread in a recipe – just two, but if an author uses them too often, it can change my entire opinion of a cookbook.

Those two words are “serve immediately.”

Really? As in turn off the burner and ladle it straight into the mouths of your dinner guests? Or do they simply mean that you shouldn’t wait a day to serve this dish?

Most of us cook and then eat so we don’t really need to be told to “serve immediately.” But anyone with kids knows that getting dinner to the table and getting your family to the table are two very different tasks with the latter being the more difficult.

At our house, as soon as I shout “dinner” (even after warnings at the 5 and 10 minute mark) there are  loud and audible groans. Soon after that come the last ditch attempts to delay eating dinner.

“But I just started a new level!”

“No! I need to finish this Lego car.”

“But, we just stripped to our underwear to play beach!”  (Seriously, this actually happened.)

On and on it goes, day after day.

So while “serve immediately” may be a good mantra for a restaurant, it just doesn’t work for families and I don’t like too many reminders of exactly how powerless I am.

-Mom on a veggie mission

2 thoughts on “The Great Brussels Sprout Battle

Leave a Reply

