Fried Plantain

If you read this blog, you’ll know that I do not usually cook with butter, but the boys wanted a treat and I wanted to try plantain. So, I went there. It’s a”once-a-year” sort of food, but it sure is delicious. The recipe comes from The Food and Cooking of Mexico by Jane Milton.

To start take 2 plantains with dark, almost black skins. Peel and cut them in half length-wise and then cut in half again. So in total you’ll have 8 strips.

In a large skillet, heat 3 tbsp. butter or butter substitute and 1 tsp. safflower oil. Once the butter is melted and hot, add your plantains in a single layer and fry (at medium-high heat) for around 10 minutes. Flip them while they are frying so that all sides get nice and brown.  Serve them while they are still warm.

Who ate it?

Husband- Hell, yes!

Son #1- He tried it but didn’t love it.

Son #2- He ate a big piece but didn’t really like it.

On another note:

I have never been very good at math. In fact, I’m so bad that I plan on re-learning  math with my boys as they go through school. I think, however, that I’ve found someone who is even worse than I am – the pricing guy at Walmart.

We do not usually shop at Walmart. I’d like to say that we don’t shop there for ethical reasons, but really it has more to do with geography. If there was a Walmart across the street from us, I’m not positive that we wouldn’t shop there.

This summer when we went camping and managed somehow to forget our tarp, we found ourselves in a Walmart. While there I found the grocery section. Did you know that they have a grocery section? Well, they do and it’s crazy.

There I found an enormous bag of meat. I mean really big. It weighed more than a kilo and contained 40 breakfast sausages and you could get all this for $8.00.

I’m not sure how much of a pig it takes to make 40 links but since your regular farmer hasn’t yet figured out how to just grow parts of a pig, let’s say it takes one fat pig. So that means that you need to feed and house the pig from birth until it’s fat enough to make sausages. Then you need to slaughter it, process it, actually make the sausages and dispose of the rest of the pig. You need to store the sausages, arrange for Wal-Mart to buy them, transport them to a warehouse, store them again, delivery them to the store, unload them, stock them and finally ring them in at the cash. All this and probably at least a few more vital steps that I just can’t think of and you need to do all this for $8.00. I can’t even get a teenager to look after the boys for an hour for that price.

I’m telling you the pricing guy is going to get fired.

Also, we didn’t find a tarp.

-Mom on a veggie mission

Leave a Reply

