Yam and Rapini Soup

I had a wisdom tooth removed this week and so it’s been all soups for me. This is a new one I tried and it was quite good. I got the idea for adding yams to soups from good old Martha Stewart.

Start by heating 4 cups of vegetable stock in your soup pot. To this add 1 medium sized yam peeled and cubed into small bite-sized pieces, 1/4 of a bunch of rapini, only the tender top leaves and 1/4 cup of orzo. Bring all this up to boil and then let it simmer for about 10 minutes or until the yam pieces are tender.

Who ate it?

Husband- Yes.

Son #1- Tried it and liked it.

Son #2- Tried it.

On another note:

Having had dental surgery this week, I’ve been a little out of it and completely forgot that Son #2 had “Show and Tell” on Friday. It was his first ever. So, not having anything to show his class, he quite resourcefully showed off his winter hat.

“What did you say about your hat?” asked Son #1.

” I told them that I didn’t know what it was and I didn’t know where we got it from.”

As you can imagine Son #1 laughed and greatly offended his younger brother.

I simply yelled, ” Don’t fight. I’m in pain.” However, only being able to open my mouth a fraction, it came out as the drunken slur of an alcoholic mother. The boys, looking slightly frightened, retreated to their room.

Soon after, Son #2 asked for a large plastic bag. About 5 minutes after getting it he had it filled to the brim with his most favorite possessions.  This bag now sits inside his backpack and just like that  he is permanently ready for “Show and Tell.”

So somehow in one evening the boys had stopped fighting and Son #2 had done a year’s worth of homework. Which makes me wonder if I shouldn’t be the “clueless mom” a little more often?

– Mom on a veggie mission

2 thoughts on “Yam and Rapini Soup

Leave a Reply

