Green Bean Fries

Many friends and a few strangers have suggested that I try Green Bean Fries which makes me think that I have falsely advertised my cooking abilities.  I cook  because if I were to start putting a frozen lasagna in the oven for dinner I’d probably never stop.

It’s not that I’m a reluctant cook. It’s more that I’m a lazy cook and all the recipes that I found for Green Bean Fries went on for more than two pages.  In the end, I surprised myself- this recipe is not difficult but it is time-consuming! Do not attempt it on a day when one kid has t-ball and the other has banjo.

First, you’ll need to blanch your beans. Trim around 20 fresh green beans (but I should have made double) and dunk them in boiling water for 3 minutes. Then run them under cold water. As they dry and you prepare your breading stations, preheat your oven to 425 F.

To bread these beans you’ll need 3 wide and shallow bowls. In the first place 1/2 cup of flour, in the second whisk two eggs or egg substitute and in the third put 1 cup panko breadcrumbs, 1/2 tsp. onion powder and 1 tsp. dried dill.

Line your three bowls up in a row and at the end place a parchment-lined baking sheet. Then start the breading process. Dip your bean in the flour first (removing excess flour), dunk in the egg and then coat in the breadcrumbs. Then on to the baking sheet it goes.

Repeat and repeat and repeat until your beans are all breaded.

I HATED this part. I hit a wall at around bean 8 and started to think bad things like, “Why am I  doing this? The boys aren’t going to eat this,” and ” This is ridiculous, I ‘ll just do all the beans at once.”

Don’t do that– I don’t remember much from the research I did for this dish, but I  do remember that every single recipe said to bread a bean at a time or risk complete failure. Okay, they weren’t quite so dramatic, but you understand. One bean at a time.

When you are finally done, pop them in your oven for 15 minutes and out they come golden brown and delicious.

Who ate them?

Husband- Yes! He could have used more though, so perhaps 30 beans next time.

Son #1- Liked the beans and not the breading.

Son #2- Liked the breading and not the beans.

Those two were born to drive me crazy!

– Mom on a veggie mission

Leave a comment